Skip to content

Faculty of Law's 125th Anniversary Celebrations

On 14 March 1894, the three founding professors of the Law School, Jethro Brown (inaugural Dean), Andrew Inglis Clark and James Backhouse Walker, held the first meeting of the Faculty of Law.

To celebrate this momentous day, the Faculty of Law is hosting a number of free events for current students, staff and alumni.


14 March 2019
11:00am – 3:30pm
Faculty of Law, Sandy Bay Campus
University of Tasmania

Together with the Tasmanian University Law Society (TULS), the Faculty of Law hosted three Q&A panels with leading alumni from the political sphere, the judiciary, and those who practice public interest law.

Students learned about the diverse and exciting places a UTAS law degree can take them.

Our alumni are serving around the world in a huge variety of roles. For our Tasmanian student event, TULS invited Tasmanian leaders from politics, the judiciary and public law to inspire our next generation of graduates. That so many of our alumni are keen to come back to participate in this milestone event speaks to the heart of who we are as a law school.

— Tim McCormack
Professor and Dean of Faculty of Law

First Panel: 11:00am

  • The Honourable Elise Archer MP
  • Madeline Ogilvie (former Labor MHA for Denison)
  • Zelinda Sherlock (Hobart City Councillor)

Second Panel: 1:30pm

  • The Honourable Justice Helen Wood (Supreme Court of Tasmania)
  • The Honourable Chief Magistrate Catherine Geason
  • The Honourable Peter Heerey AM QC (former Justice of the Federal Court of Australia)
  • Scott Ashby (associate to the Honourable Justice Estcourt of the Supreme Court of Tasmania)

Third Panel: 2:30pm

  • Major Zoe Lippis (Legal Officer at Defence)
  • Tim Mills (Advisor at the Office of the Attorney-General)
  • Robin Banks (PHD Candidate and former Anti-Discrimination Commissioner)
  • Kim Heap (Registered Migration Agent)

14 March 2019
6:00pm – 7:30pm
Government House
Queens Domain, Hobart

Her Excellency the Governor Professor Kate Warner AC hosted a reception at Government House for Faculty of Law alumni.

This event will be followed by alumni receptions in Burnie, Launceston, interstate and internationally.

Although physically located in Tasmania’s south, the Faculty of Law has deep roots in the state’s north and northwest. Our longstanding connection with these regions is built on generations of alumni who have studied at the Faculty and served the legal profession in their respective communities. That connection grows ever stronger through the vibrancy of our current students from the north and northwest.

— Tim McCormack
Professor and Dean of Faculty of Law


20 March 2019, 5:30pm – 7:00pm, Maker’s Workshop, 2 Bass Highway, Burnie


11 April 2019
6:00pm – 7:30pm
Venue TBC


Alumni receptions will be held in Melbourne, Sydney, Canberra, Singapore, Kuala Lumpur, London, Suva and Apia.

Dates to be advised.

Make a gift to celebrate 125 years of the Faculty of Law

We have big plans for our Law School; but most of all we want it to be a place where we support our students to grow into the kinds of leaders that so many of our alumni have become.

We want to establish three new scholarships to help provide critical opportunities for our future students:

We would love you to join with us to help establish the Vanessa Goodwin Scholarship; the Rick Snell Scholarship; and/or, the Tasmanian Aboriginal Access Scholarship. I would also be happy to discuss these opportunities with you.

— Tim McCormack
Professor and Dean of Faculty of Law

The Vanessa Goodwin Scholarship

Dr Vanessa Goodwin was a much loved and admired Tasmanian and a proud graduate of our Law School (LLB (hons) and PhD). She served with distinction as Attorney-General of Tasmania and it was a tragic loss for our Parliament and our State when Vanessa’s life was cut short by illness. We plan to establish a scholarship to honour her memory and to enable LLB students to intern with the Tasmanian Law Reform Institute. Vanessa was passionate about Law Reform – particularly in the fields of criminal justice and sentencing. Her family is delighted with this initiative to honour Vanessa’s memory.

The Rick Snell Scholarship

Very few students from the West Coast of Tasmania go on to study at University and even fewer study Law. Rick Snell is a stunning example of what is possible for a student from Queenstown. He not only attained the rank of Associate Professor but was also Deputy Dean of the Law School and a member of the University Council. Rick was a wonderful teacher and has done more than any other individual to help Law School alumni stay connected to their institution. We plan to establish an access scholarship to make it easier for a student from the West Coast to study Law.

The Aboriginal Scholarship in Law

In 2018 there were only 6 students in a total Law School cohort of 650 who openly identified as Aboriginal. Some others may have chosen not to identify that way but, at most, the total number would have been less than 2% of the Law School cohort. That is significantly lower than the proportion of Tasmanians with Aboriginal identity. We plan to establish an access scholarship to make it easier for a Tasmanian Aboriginal student to come to study Law and we are working with the Riawunna Centre for Aboriginal Education to create this opportunity.