Uniting Church

Wesley Church, Hobart, now a Uniting church (AOT, PH30/1/2981)

The Uniting Church in Australia commenced in June 1977 with the amalgamation of the Methodist and the majority of the Presbyterian and Congregational Churches in Australia. In Tasmania this made it the third largest church in the state. It comprised three presbyteries under the oversight of the Tasmanian Synod. These presbyteries joined into one in 1994, and in 2002 the Synods of Tasmania and Victoria were amalgamated for administrative and mission purposes with each retaining its own individuality. The structure of the Church is non-hierarchical, with all positions on the councils of the church open to lay persons as well as clergy, and men and women having equal status. The main emphasis of the Uniting Church has been in social justice, liturgical renewal, ecumenical relationships and pastoral care.

Margaret Smith