Graduate Research Conference

The 12th Annual Graduate Research Conference has concluded.

Thank you to everyone who participated.

Thank you to everyone who contributed to the success of the 12th Annual Graduate Research Conference.

Between our fantastic keynote Associate Professor Elizabeth Leane, our wonderful panellists Bianca Deans, Clare Rutherford, Jon Manning and Marisol Miró Quesada, and our deeply talented Higher Degree by Research (HDR) candidates participating in the poster presentations and the Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition, it was an enormous event.

Over 200 HDR candidates presented their research in poster presentations, with approximately sixty academics stepping up to help judge their presentations for our poster contest. Congratulations again to our Poster Presentation winner Benjamin Hillier, Runner-Up Cameron Macdonald, and winner of the People’s Choice Award, Abigail Smith.

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Final was a blast, with all ten of our finalists giving fantastic presentations. All of our finalists have received high praise from attendees, and we would like to congratulate them all on their presentations. The winner, Glen Bain, represented UTAS at the Asia-Pacific 3MT Competition on 27 September at The University of Queensland. We would like to extend further congratulations to our Runner-Up, David Moreno.

This conference also saw the introduction of the Networking Event, hosted by Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Brigid Heywood. Thanks to our hosts, our participants, and the musical talents of the JAAS Fourtet for creating a wonderful night of fun for our HDR candidates, academic and professional staff to get to know each other better.

Thanks also go to everyone behind the scenes who helped out, our tireless team of volunteers and Graduate Research Office staff.

Please note that there will not be a Graduate Research Conference in 2019.
Please email any enquiries to