Research Division

Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources – The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science

Start Date

9 Mar 2021

External deadline: 9 March 2021 (submit directly online; does not come through the Hub)

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science are Australia’s most prestigious and highly regarded awards for outstanding achievements in scientific research, research-based innovation and excellence in science teaching. The Science Prizes recognise the achievements and success of Australian scientists and innovators to Australia and internationally. There are five Science Prizes for science and innovation:

  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Science ($250,000)
  • Prime Minister’s Prize for Innovation ($250,000)
  • Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year ($50,000)
  • Frank Fenner Prize for Life Scientist of the Year ($50,000)
  • Prize for New Innovators ($50,000)

Each prize recipient receives a medallion, lapel pin, prize money as described above and an award certificate.

A prize nomination must be proposed by someone (a nominator) with knowledge of the nominee’s achievements and endorsed by two supporters. Nominators for the Science Prizes must provide three independent referees (two referees must be based overseas).

For more information please see the official website.