Skip to content

List of Officers at the University of Tasmania

Persons occupying the following University positions are deemed to be Officers under the Work Health and Safety Act 2012:

Vice-Chancellor* Professor Rufus Black
Executive Director, Corporate Affairs* Jason Purdie
Executive Director, Advancement*  Kate Robertson
Executive Director Jessica  Grant
Director, Peter Underwood CentreProfessor Natalie Brown, Chair of Academic Senate
Chief People OfficerJillian Bye
Executive Director - Strategic Transformation Recruitment & International  OfficePeter Wiseman
Provost* Professor Jane Long
University Librarian Janette Burke
Executive Director, Student Experience Stephanie Taylor
Executive Director, AcademicProfessor Mitch Parsell
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Launceston) Professor Dom Geraghty
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Southern Transformation) Professor Mark Hunt
Pro Vice Chancellor (Aboriginal Research  and Leadership) Professor Greg Lehman
Pro Vice Chancellor (Cradle Coast Region) Professor Jim Cavaye
Chief Marketing Officer Craig Barling
Executive Director - Marketing Michelle Weir
DVC Recruitment and International Rob Wilson
PVC - International and  Acting Dean of  Graduate Research Professor Peter Frappell
Director Student SystemsRobyn Causley
Associate Director - Strategic Insights and AnalyticsNathalie Henning
Director  - English Language Centre Josie Gawron
DVC (Research) Professor Anthony Koutoulis
Executive Director - Research Operations Regina Magierowski (Acting)
Executive Director - Innovation and EnterpriseProfessor Craig Johnson
Director, Integrated Marine Observing SystemMichelle Heupel
Chief Operating Officer* David Clerk
Chief Financial Officer Jo Willsmore
Chief Information Officer Adrian Dillon
Executive Director - Infrastructure Services & Development Mike Hunnibell
Executive Director, Legal and Audit Jane Beaumont - General Council
Executive Director, Commercial Strategy Pennelope Ratcliffe
Executive Director - Northern Campus TransformationPhil Leersen
Executive Director - Southern Campus TransformationPhil McMahon
Principal, University College* Lee Whiteley
Executive Dean and PVC,  Professor Kate Darian-Smith
Executive Director, Strategy & Business DevelopmentTina Psereckis
Director, OperationsScott Sullivan
Head of School,  Social Sciences Nicholas Farrelly
Dean of Law and Head of School Professor Michael Stuckey
Head of School,  Humanities Prof Lisa Fletcher
Head of School,  Creative Arts and Media Assoc Professor  Megan Keating
Head of School, Faculty of Education Professor Victoria Carrington
Director, Institute for the Study of Social ChangeElizabeth Lester
Director, Tasmania Law Reform InstituteBrendan Gogarty (Acting)
Director, Tasmanian Institute of Law Enforcement StudiesProfessor Nicole Asquith.
Director, Centre for Legal StudiesNaomi Bryant
Executive Dean   Doctor Stuart Crispin
Executive Director, OperationsAlice Burns
Head of School,  Marketing and Management Professor Melanie Bryant
Head of School, Accounting, Economics and Finance Dr Belinda Williams
Director, AIHSMProfessor Melanie Lauva
Executive Dean Professor Denise Fassett
Executive Director, OperationsLee Hanson/Ben Jones
Dean, School of Medicine Professor James Vickers
Head of School,  Health Sciences Professor Nuala Byrne
Associate Dean NSW CampusesProfessor Melanie Lauva
Head of School, NursingProfessor Sonj Hall
Head of School, Pharmacy and PharmacologyAssoc Professor Glenn Jacobson
Head of School,  Psychological Sciences and Psychology Professor Lisa Foa
Director, Menzies Research Institute of Tasmania Professor Alison Venn
Director, Wicking Institute Professor James Vickers
Executive Dean, College of Sciences and Engineering*Mr Terry Bailey
Executive Director, OperationsMr Brett Harris
Dean, School of Natural Sciences Professor Simon Ellingsen
Head of School, Engineering Professor Timothy Finnigan
Head of School, Architecture and Design Professor Julian Worrall
Head of School, ICTProfessor Anna Shillabeer
Head of School, Geography, Planning & Spatial SciencesProfessor Matt King
Principal, Australian Maritime CollegeMr  Michael van Balen
Executive Director, Institute for Marine and Antarctic StudiesProfessor Chris Carter
Director, Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture Doctor Michael Rose
A/Director Central Science Laboratory (CSL)Doctor  Thomas Rodemann
Centre Director, ARC Training Centre for Portable Analytical Separation TechnologiesProfessor Brett Paull
Director, Centre for Ore Deposit and Earth SciencesProfessor David Cooke
Director Across- ASTechProfessor Michael Breadmore

Associate Director (ICT, Geography, Planning  & Spatial Sciences, Architecture and Design)

Professor Elaine Stratford
Director, National Centre for Maritime Engineering and HydrodynamicsDoctor  Vikram  Garaniya
Director, AMC Search Mr Dean Cook
CEO, AMC Search Dean Cook
Director, Tasmanian Partnership for Advanced Computing Professor Nathan Bindoff
Director, Australian Innovation Research CentreProfessor Anthony Arundel