Skip to content

Vessel Safety Committee

The role of this committee will be to assist and advise the University in complying with legislation which sets out the requirements for ensuring the health and safety of participants in vessel activities, including:

  • All vessels (under and over 12 meters in length) and personal water craft (such as jet skis, canoes, kayaks etc.);
  • Participants (internal and external) on university owned and operated vessels; and
  • University participants on externally owned and operated vessels (both commercial and private)

The committee will be a forum to review and advise on health and safety issues, review procedures and assist with continuous improvement by driving consultation, communication and promotion of a positive safety culture. It may be asked to assist in investigating vessel activity incidents or hazards and other significant issues.

The Committee shall meet as often as necessary, at least four times per year, in order to perform its functions.

Proposals for agenda items from Committee members are to be submitted to the secretary for consideration and inclusion on the agenda by the Chairperson.

For the purposes of accountability and meeting efficiency, all meetings shall be run according to a predetermined agenda with items presented under a coversheet that identifies the recommended action.

Meetings 2021

Monday 22 February 2021via Zoom 1.30pm to 3.00pm
Monday, 10th May 2021via Zoom 1.30pm to 3.00pm
Monday  9th August 2021via Zoom 1.30pm to 3.00pm
Monday,15th November, 2021 via zoom1.30pm to 3.00pm
  • Assist the University of Tasmania in complying with statutory requirements and industry best practice standards for all vessels used by the University and to support and ensure the safety of any participants who are passengers on all vessels.
  • Provide advice to stakeholders in reviewing relevant policies, procedures, safety management plans, guidelines and programs for compliance and continual improvement.
  • Assist work areas/organisational units and individuals by providing advice on relevant information, instructions and training.Participate in and/or provide assistance to stakeholders in the investigation of incidents, injuries and near misses which occur on or involving vessels used by the University.

Full view of Terms of Reference located here (PDF 86KB) ( endorsed by committee on the 1st January 2018) - 2020 _Terms of Reference, currently under review

The Vessel Safety Committee shall comprise the following mandatory members.

Membership to be reviewed in the 4th quarter of 2021

Composition of Committee Member and Position Title
Chairperson  Michael vanBalen (Principal - AMC)
University Dive Officer Vallorie Hodges
AMC Representative Gregory Truloff – Operations Manager
AMC Representative Chris Lambert – Blue Fin Master
IMAS Representative Wen ten Hout – Administration Manager
IMAS Representative David Faloon  - Boating Officer (IMAS)
IMAS Representative Martin Filleul - Senior Technical Officer - Field Operations
IMAS Representative Kirsten Le Mar - Operations Manager
CoSE - Natural SciencesShelley Urquhart - Operations Manager
Consultation to the Committee Member an Position Title
IMAS Prof Mike Coffin - Oceans and Cyrosphere
Safety and Wellbeing Nigel Evans - Safety and Wellbeing Advisor
Chair of the Diving Safety Committee Terry Bailey-  Executive Director


The Safety and Wellbeing  Administrator shall be Secretary to the Committee. The Safety and Wellbeing Unit shall supply the secretariat resources necessary to the Committee

Attendance by Others at Meetings

A member may appoint a nominee. When a member is unable to attend the meeting of the Committee, that member should advise the Chairperson in writing that a representative will attend on their behalf as a nominee. The nominee will be considered a Committee member for voting and decision making at the meeting.

The Committee or its Chairperson may invite other University staff members and persons external to the University as required