Skip to content

Australia Awards Scholarships

Australia Awards

The Australian Government offers prestigious international scholarships and fellowships to undertake study, research and professional development The Australia Awards Scholarships are administered by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Department of Education and the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research - ACIAR.

The University of Tasmania, together with its specialist national institute, the Australian Maritime College, has a long history in playing host to Australia Award students that spans 20 years.

Categories of the Awards for studies at UTAS are:

The following benefits generally apply to the Australia Awards Scholarships:

  • Full tuition fees
  • Return air travel—payment of a single return, economy class airfare to and from Australia, via the most direct route
  • Establishment allowance—a once only payment of A$5,000 as a contribution towards accommodation expenses, text books, study materials
  • Contribution to Living Expenses (CLE) is a fortnightly contribution to basic living expenses paid at a rate determined by the department. From 1 January 2013, CLE payable to Scholars studying under an ADS is A$30,000 per year.
  • Introductory Academic Program (IAP)—a compulsory 4-6 week program prior to the commencement of formal academic studies covering information on life and study in Australia
  • Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) for the duration of the award (for award holder only)—provided to cover the student's basic medical costs (with the exception of pre-existing conditions)
  • Pre-course English (PCE) fees—if deemed necessary PCE may be available for students for in-country and/or in-Australia training
  • Supplementary Academic Support may be available to ensure a Scholar's academic success or enhance their academic experience
  • Fieldwork (for research students only)—may be available for eligible research students for one return economy class airfare via the most direct route to their country of citizenship or within Australia.

More information on the ACIAR John Allwright Fellowship and how to apply can be found below:

John Allwright Fellowship (JAF) - Australian Council for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)

ACIAR's John Allwright Fellowships are part of the Australia Awards program. Australia Awards are prestigious international scholarships and fellowships funded by the Australian Government which offer the next generation of global leaders an opportunity to undertake study, research and professional development.

Further information is available via these links on the John Allwright Fellowship, including eligibility criteria, ACIAR current fund research country partnerships and an online user guide.

Participating Countries and Study Priorities

For more detailed information and country-specific application opening and closing dates and eligibility, refer to participating countries.

Australia Awards Scholarship recipients can refer to the 2020 Australia Awards Policy Handbook.

University of Tasmania Research Opportunities

Research degree candidates who need to find a research supervisor to support their project can search for their field of expertise using the following Research Portal Find a Supervisor.

Information on how to apply and all enquiries about the Australia Awards Scholarship categories can be found at Australia Awards.