Skip to content

UTAS to host 1st round of Uni Rugby 7s

Aon University Sevens Series draw to expand in 2018.

The University of Tasmania will play host the first round of the 2018 University Sevens Series set to kick off in August and conclude in October as it enters its second year.

The Aon University Sevens Series is Australia’s only all-University competition and intertwines students with elite Rugby players with each squad featuring students studying at the Universities.

Rugby Australia General Manager High Performance, Ben Whitaker said: “With a five-round competition, the series now almost mirrors the number of events on the HSBC Women’s Sevens World Series, which is only going to enhance the series as a player pathway to prepare the next generation of Australian Sevens players for what’s required at the highest level.

“With five great University locations we will also get to showcase Rugby Sevens to new groups of sports fans around the country, supported by a quality broadcast from which will make the competition accessible to all Rugby fans.”

Round 1 
August 25-26, University of Tasmania, Hobart

Round 2
September 8-9, University of Canberra, Canberra

Round 3
September 22-23, University of Queensland, Brisbane

Round 4
October 6-7, Bond University, Gold Coast

Round 5 
October 20-21, The University of Adelaide, Adelaide

Published on: 11 Jul 2018 9:01am