Skip to content

UTAS Rugby 7s team announced

The Aon Uni 7s competition is back again in 2018, with Hobart hosting the opening leg of the tournament on 25/26 Aug on our Sandy Bay Field.

Following the success of last year, the competition has expanded to 10 Universities competing in 5 tournaments across Australia between August and Oct.

Representing UTAS in the UTAS Lions will be students:

  • 2 Caitlin Ryan
  • 4 Alice Robinson
  • 5 Lauryn Cooper
  • 7 Michaelyne Arumbi
  • 8 Georgia Stewart
  • 11 Wynonah Conway
  • 15 Verity Reid
  • 17 Georgia Sayers
  • 19 Isabella Hardy

Team Captain is Lauryn Cooper and team VC is Molly Baxter. Team Coach is famed Luke Burgess.

Team shoot 2

EVENT DETAILS: Saturday August 25-26 from 9am-5pm at Sandy Bay Oval.

The Universities competing in the series include: the University of Queensland (last years winners), Griffith university, Bond University, Macquarie University, Adelaide Uni, University of New England, Canberra University, and new comers for 2018... Melbourne University and Sydney University.

Each team will be allocated one national development player for the opening round, with UTAS securing young gun Emma Sykes.

Published on: 01 Aug 2018 4:21pm