Skip to content

Crown Princess Mary Scholarships 2016 awarded

Published 24 Mar 2016
Crown Princess Mary Scholarships 2016 awarded

Five Danish exchange students have been presented with Crown Princess Mary Scholarships today (Thursday, 24 March 2016).

This is the 10th year the scholarships have been awarded to Danish students studying at the University of Tasmania.

The scholarships provide the recipients with $2,000 towards the cost of their studies in Tasmania. The students are chosen not only for their academic merit, but also their extra-curricular activities and motivation for studying in Tasmania.

The scholarships are open to undergraduate and postgraduate students in all fields of study offered at the University of Tasmania.

The Scholarship mirrors the University of Copenhagen Scholarship, which allows students from Australian universities who are studying at the University of Copenhagen to apply for the Crown Princess Mary Scholarship in Denmark.

There are now 28 Crown Princess Mary Scholars.

Deputy Chancellor Harvey Gibson said the presentation of the scholarships was an occasion for celebration.

"Our continuing connection with our alumna Crown Princess Mary allows us to provide these young scholars with the enriching experience of studying in a foreign country - and we in Tasmania also benefit immensely from this cultural exchange," he said.

"As the number of Danish students attending the University of Tasmania each year continues to grow, so too does the quality of applications and testimonials received.                                         

"I extend my warmest congratulations to our newest Crown Princess Mary Scholars and welcome them as they immerse themselves in a new city and a new educational experience."

The 2016 Crown Princess Mary Scholarship recipients are:

·        Sune Bjerg (Engineering and Business)

·        Sanni Jensen (Journalism Honours)

·        Kristine Pedersen (Nursing)

·        Ida Steensgaard (Marine Science)

·        Rasmus Svendsen (Education)


Photo caption: Crown Princess Mary Scholarship recipients 2016 (L-R): Rasmus Svendsen, Sune Bjerg, Kristine Pedersen, Ida Steensgard and Sanni Jensen