Australia Awards Scholarships

The Australian Government offers prestigious international scholarships and fellowships to undertake study, research and professional development.

The Australia Awards Scholarships are administered by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the Department of Education and the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR).

The University of Tasmania, together with its specialist national institute, the Australian Maritime College, has a long history in playing host to Australia Award students that spans 20 years.

Categories of the Awards for studies at the University of Tasmania are:

Participating countries


Indonesia (PDF 300KB)

Student stories

Aswardi Nasution, Doctor of Philosophy (Agriculture)

Studying at the University of Tasmania is amazing.  I am very happy and grateful when I got the opportunity to pursue my postgraduate degree here at UTAS, due to this being an excellent university in research.  There are good facilities to support my research projects, as well as good communication between students, supervisors and staff, so I can enjoy my study process.

I am doing my PhD on the Sandy Bay campus in Hobart.  I think this is a very nice campus, which provides us with very nice views as well as nice weather.  There is the Derwent River in front of the campus and Mount Wellington behind, which can amaze everyone who comes to Hobart.  In fact, this is a quiet city. Thus, this is a perfect place for study.

In general, I have found that studying and living in Tasmania is great. It is not difficult to find suitable and affordable accommodation for students.  We can live well in accommodation provided by UTAS or live off-campus. There are also many amazing places surrounding Tasmania that I can enjoy during weekends or holidays such as Richmond, Bruny Island, Maria Island and Port Arthur etc.  Visiting these places really helped me to reduce stressing whilst studying.  So, I can say that living and studying in Tasmania is a great choice and experience for me.

Iskandar Iskandar, Doctor of Philosophy (Management)

As a research student, finding a good supervisor is fundamental. Without having any previous academic career, to be honest, I was not familiar with the University of Tasmania before I applied for the Australia Awards Scholarship. My primary focus was to find a supervisor to my research and University of Tasmania offered me an exceptional supervisory team to support my project. I am impressed with the support from the University of Tasmania’s library that provide me with the literature that I need. I can easily request them to borrow one from another library for me when it is not available in their catalogue.

Since the first day I was arriving Tasmania, I knew I made my best decision to study at the University of Tasmania. Not only for me but also for my family. The air is fresh, which is good for our health. The people are amiable. My family and I do not have any unpleasant experience to interact with Locals. Tasmanian landscapes and seasons offer scenic views like no other place can provide. Just imagine you are having a holiday with your family and come home with a degree. Tasmania will help you to manage your stress of studying.

I am a Muslim. Finding a proper place to perform daily pray is essential for me. Unlike any other state in Australia, there is only one mosque in all over Tasmania, located in West Hobart. Sometimes, it is inconvenient to back and forth from campus to the mosque during the study time. Fortunately, the University of Tasmania on behave of Tasmanian University Union Muslim Society (TUUMS) provide a representative praying room on campus. Not only for daily prayers, but TUUMS also organise the Friday prayer (Jumu’ah prayer) in this praying room, although sometimes I need to squish myself due to the number of people that coming for the prayer. For me, TUUMS’s praying room is the second mosque in Tasmania. Thanks to the University of Tasmania.

Other countries

For more detailed information and country-specific application opening and closing dates and eligibility, refer to participating countries.

The following benefits generally apply to the Australia Awards Scholarships:

  • Full tuition fees
  • Return air travel—payment of a single return, economy class airfare to and from Australia, via the most direct route
  • Establishment allowance—a once only payment of A$5,000 as a contribution towards accommodation expenses, text books, study materials
  • Contribution to Living Expenses (CLE) is a fortnightly contribution to basic living expenses paid at a rate determined by the department. From 1 January 2013, CLE payable to Scholars studying under an ADS is A$30,000 per year.
  • Introductory Academic Program (IAP)—a compulsory 4-6 week program prior to the commencement of formal academic studies covering information on life and study in Australia
  • Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) for the duration of the award (for award holder only)—provided to cover the student's basic medical costs (with the exception of pre-existing conditions)
  • Pre-course English (PCE) fees—if deemed necessary PCE may be available for students for in-country and/or in-Australia training
  • Supplementary Academic Support may be available to ensure a Scholar's academic success or enhance their academic experience
  • Fieldwork (for research students only)—may be available for eligible research students for one return economy class airfare via the most direct route to their country of citizenship or within Australia.

ACIAR's John Allwright Fellowships are part of the Australia Awards program. Australia Awards are prestigious international scholarships and fellowships funded by the Australian Government which offer the next generation of global leaders an opportunity to undertake study, research and professional development.

Further information is available via these links on the John Allwright Fellowship, including eligibility criteria, ACIAR current fund research country partnerships and an online user guide.

Australia Awards Scholarship recipients can refer to the Australia Awards Policy Handbook.

Information on how to apply and all enquiries about the Australia Awards Scholarship categories can be found at Australia Awards.

University of Tasmania research opportunities

Research degree candidates who need to find a research supervisor to support their project can search for their field of expertise using the following Research Portal Find a Supervisor.