boxed-arrow-leftArtboard 1Artboard 1Artboard 1Artboard 1
Open menu

Published: 25 Mar 2022

Janefield Dairy's Brian and Michele Lawrence with ANZ's Rick Webb. They all stand in front of banners in a paddock at Cressy.

Janefield Dairy has been named winner of the 2022 ANZ Dairy Business of the Year award at the Tasmanian Dairy Awards held at Cressy yesterday.

The Tasmanian Dairy Business of the Year Award is awarded to the business that records the highest number of points in the judging process, with benchmarking data considering financial performance, management, pasture, herd size and environment.

A large number of dairy farmers sit on benches at long tables at a farm for the 2022 Tasmanian Dairy Awards.

Janefield Dairy was one of four finalists selected out of a group of more than 36 Tasmanian dairy farm businesses who provided benchmarking data for the 2020-21 financial year. Janefield Dairy is located at Meander and owned and managed by Brian and Michele Lawrence.

This is the second time Janefield Dairy has won the Dairy Business of the Year Award.

Janefield Dairy's Brian and Michele Lawrence, with ANZ's Rick Webb.

The judges for this year’s award were James Greenacre, manager of Rosemount Ag Pty Ltd - which won the 2021 ANZ Tasmanian Dairy Business of the Year Award, and Lesley Irvine, the Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture’s (TIA) Dairy Extension Team Leader.

“The Dairy Business of the Year Award showcases some of the best dairy farm businesses in Tasmania,” Lesley Irvine said.

“It was clear this year the value each finalist placed on their farm team and how important the farm team are in helping the business achieve its goals.

“More than 1000 cows are milked on the farm at Janefield Dairy, and because of the large size of the business, the team is critical to the success of the business. Encouraging and enabling the farm team to develop their skills is a key focus for Brian and Michele.

“All the people involved in each of these businesses should be proud not only of the financial success of the business but how they work together to maintain high standards of animal health and welfare and sustainability.”

The Dairy Business of the Year Award is conducted by TIA as part of the DairyHIGH-2 project which is funded by Dairy Australia and TIA.

“The Tasmanian Dairy Awards brings together the Tasmanian dairy industry to celebrate excellence of our people and dairy farming businesses,” Executive Officer of DairyTas Laura Richardson said.

“This year’s winners represent the diverse nature of dairying farming in Tasmania and highlights their success.”

The three other finalists in the Award, Ashburton, The Avenue and Woodrising Dairies, are also large-scale dairy businesses, all with teams of people that are highly valued for the work they do.

The 2022 Fonterra Share Dairy Farmer of the Year Award was won by was won by Craig (Rabbit) and Jo Morgan-French from Circular Head.

Six DairyTas awards were also presented as part of the Tasmanian Dairy Awards:

  • 2022 Fonterra Dairy Employee of the Year Award - Ujjwal Chapagain
  • 2022 Aurora Energy Employer of Choice Award - Mount Patrick Estate
  • 2022 Mondelez Young Dairy Farmer Encouragement Award - Megan Jackson
  • 2022 NRM North Dairy Environmental Award - Chris and Suzanne Cowley
  • 2022 Saputo Dairy Farm Safety - FarmRight (Aust) Ltd
  • Tasmanian Dairy Service Award, sponsored by Elphinstone Stevens – John Bennett AM and Michael Bennett

The winners were announced at a special on-farm Awards lunch on Thursday, March 24, held at Rosemount Agriculture Pty Ltd, Cressy. This replaced the annual Tasmanian Dairy Conference and Tasmanian Dairy Awards dinner that was cancelled due to Covid-19.

A field day will be held at Janefield Dairy on Thursday, April 7.