boxed-arrow-leftArtboard 1Artboard 1Artboard 1Artboard 1
Open menu

Published: 3 May 2019

2019 Scholarship Students at Agfest

Fifteen students from across Tasmania have been awarded sixteen scholarships totalling $224,000 to study agriculture at the University of Tasmania (UTAS).

Acting Director of the Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture (TIA) Professor Ted Lefroy said highly skilled agricultural graduates were in demand in Tasmania and around the world.

“More than ever before, agriculture is central to Australia’s contribution to the world. We need to sustain a growing population with safe, sustainable and profitable food and fibre production. And we need to do it under harsher environmental conditions.

“That challenge is why so many of the world’s smartest people are drawn to the science behind agribusiness. And the demand is so high for our students, many of them have job offers before they even graduate,” said Professor Lefroy.

“TIA and our industry partners give UTAS agriculture students practical, real-world experience. The scholarships awarded today are equipping the next generation to reinvent the family farm, prevent disease outbreaks, boost rural finance or improve crop yields in the developing world.

“We are extremely grateful for the generous support of our scholarship donors, including individuals, industry and community organisations. They are shaping the future not just for Tasmania, but for the world,” said Professor Lefroy.

Mr Oliver Gales from Howden is the 2019 recipient of the Fruit Growers Tasmania Honours Scholarship.

The $5,000 award will support Mr Gales’ honours research into improving raspberry production in Tasmania.

Mr Gales said he was motivated to undertake an innovative project that was industry-relevant after working for a summer at Westerway Raspberry Farm.

“My research is looking at ways infra-red technology can be used to assess raspberry heath, as well as the impacts that mechanised harvesting and different freezing methods have on the quality of the fruit,” Mr Gales said.

“I am so grateful to Fruit Growers Tasmania. The scholarship has given me the time to really focus on the scope of my project and ensure it is relevant for the raspberry sector.”

Mr Ian Cover from Fruit Growers Tasmania said they were proud to support the next generation of agricultural leaders.

“The Fruit Growers Tasmania Honours Scholarship was established to recognise exceptional full-time students, that have the ambition to overcome fruit industry related issues and to encourage them to seek a career in Tasmania’s fruit industry,” Mr Cover said.

“On behalf of Fruit Growers Tasmania, I would like to congratulate Mr Oliver Gales, who has demonstrated that he possesses these qualities and a willingness to support our growing berry industry.”

The agricultural scholarship recipients for 2019 are:

  • Luca Gwynne, Agriculture and Food Systems Scholarship in Agricultural Science
  • Esther Magor, City of Devonport Lions Club Taste the Harvest Scholarship & Costa North-West Scholarship in Agricultural Science
  • Olivia Cripps, Costa Honours Scholarship in Agricultural Science
  • William Burbury, David McEwan Scholarship in Agriculture
  • Lilia Jenkins, Driscoll's Scholarship in Agricultural Science
  • Oliver Gales, Fruit Growers Tasmania Honours Scholarship
  • Holly Coad, Graeme Tole Memorial Scholarship in Agricultural Science
  • Daniella De Rooy, Hedley Lux Gregg Bursary in Agricultural Science
  • Shannon Macdonald, Lewis and Sons Bursary in Agricultural Science
  • Michael Steel, LR Buz Green AM Scholarship in Agricultural Science
  • Daniel Bosveld, Neale Edwards Scholarship in Agricultural Science or Forestry
  • Etienne De Kock, Professor George Wade Scholarship in Agricultural Science
  • James Aird, Robert Gatenby Tasmania University Scholarship in Agricultural Science
  • Sarah McKay, Robert Menary Tasmania University Scholarship in Agricultural Science
  • Kirrily French, Tasmanian Beef Industry Trust Scholarship in Agricultural Science

Image: L-R: front : Daniella De Rooy, Lilia Jenkins, Shannon McDonald, Luca Gwynne, Holly Coad, Esther Magor, Sarah McKay
L-R back:  Kirrily French, Oliver Gales, Olivia Cripps, Etienne De Kock