boxed-arrow-leftArtboard 1Artboard 1Artboard 1Artboard 1
Open menu

Published: 13 Mar 2020

Genaro Rosselyn Velasquez

Tasmanian dairy farmers are being recognised for their excellence in business management, with six farms in the running for major categories as part of the 2020 Tasmanian Dairy Awards.

The awards are organised by the Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture (TIA) and finalists are decided based on key performance indicators that are recorded through TIA’s free benchmarking program.

“Each year we offer a free benchmarking program to Tasmanian dairy businesses to help them make confident and effective farm management decisions that will benefit them into the future,” Ms Irvine said.

“During the 2018-19 season the program received participation from 31 dairy farms around the state. We work closely with businesses to measure financial and physical information such as costs (per cow, per ha and per kg of milk solids), milk and feed production, labour efficiency and pasture utilisation.”

Ms Irvine said the finalists in the Tasmanian Dairy Business Awards were excellent examples of farmers that are effectively managing all aspects of their business to achieve strong financial performance.

The 2020 ANZ Dairy Business of the Year Award finalists are:

  • Active Dairies Pty Ltd, Bracknell, owned by Grant and Kim Archer
  • Dalmore Dairy, Dairy Plains, managed by Luke Davey-Baldock
  • Rosemount, Cressy, managed by James Greenacre

The 2020 Fonterra Share Dairy Farmer entrants are:

  • Craig and Zoe Waterhouse, Marrawah
  • Genaro and Rosselyn Velasquez, Edith Creek
  • Marcus and Simone Haywood, Ringarooma

Ms Irvine said the Share Dairy Farmer Award aims to highlight how farmers can use share farming as a career pathway to build wealth. The Award participants are judged on their financial performance, alongside their skills in people, pasture and herd management.

“The Tasmanian Dairy Awards provide the ideal platform to promote the exceptional performers from within this dynamic industry. Tasmanian dairy farmers are leading the way in these key areas, which is fuelling confidence, investment and opportunities,” DairyTas Executive Officer, Jonathan Price said.

Five other awards (organised by DairyTas) will be presented as part of the Tasmanian Dairy Awards:

  • Dairy Farm Safety Award, sponsored by Rex James Stockfeed
  • Dairy Environmental Award, sponsored by Veolia
  • Young Farmer of the Year Award, sponsored by Cadbury
  • Employer of Choice Award, sponsored by Aurora
  • Employee of the Year Award, sponsored by Fonterra

*** Conference Cancelled ***

Update from DairyTAS on 16 March 2020:

The DairyTas Board and Staff have been carefully considering the impact of the COVID-19 virus on the upcoming 2020 Tasmanian Dairy Conference and Awards Dinner.

Given the impact of travel restrictions on guest speakers, and the risk to attendees, the decision has been made to cancel the events. Due to the calibre of speakers, the support of sponsors and the quality of nominations received for the various awards, it is disappointing not to hold the event but believe it is the right decision to make.

We are currently looking at the most effective way to issue refunds. In the coming weeks we will look at rescheduling the Awards dinner as a standalone event to recognise a number of exceptional businesses and individuals from across the industry.

If you have any queries please contact the DairyTas office on (03) 6432 2233.

Cancellation also includes associated events (Pre-Conference Tour and YDN Annual Dinner).