boxed-arrow-leftArtboard 1Artboard 1Artboard 1Artboard 1
Open menu
Project name TASAg Innovation Hub
Funding bodies The Australian Government will contribute $8 million over 4 years through the Future Drought Fund. Innovation Hub Partners will provide co-contributions of $13.2 million over 4 years.
Lead researcher Innovation Hub Director, Associate Professor Katherine Evans
Partners Beanstalk Agtech, Bush Heritage Australia, Cape Herbert, Definium Technologies, Highland Conservation, Horticulture Innovation Australia, Hydro Tasmania, NRM Cradle Coast, NRM North, NRM South, Private Forests Tasmania, Rural Business Tasmania, Soils for Life, Southern Cross University, Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers Association, Tasmanian Irrigation, Tasmanian Women in Agriculture, TasWater, The Derwent Catchment Project, University of Tasmania.

The TASAg Innovation Hub (the Hub) is seeking to build the capabilities of farmers and rural communities to better prepare for drought. Diverse partners and network supporters across a spectrum of values, expertise, and relevant experience will work together to ensure the Hub’s purpose is realised - to increase access to knowledge and adoption of practices to ensure financial, social, and environmental resilience to climate change and variability. Through its activities the Hub will also seek to enhance community well-being to mitigate the increasing risk of drought and other extreme climatic events – to make a real difference in the lives of primary producers and the communities in which they live.

Part of a strong national network of eight hubs located in key agricultural and climatic zones around Australia, the Hub is funded under the Commonwealth Government’s $5 billion Future Drought Fund. Its operations are based in Launceston and Hobart, at campuses of the Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture at the University of Tasmania.

Find out more about the Tasmania Drought Resilience Adoption and Innovation Hub.

Read about our regional priority areas for building drought preparedness  and resilience.

See the Innovation Hub’s introductory video.

The TASAg Innovation Hub Operations Team
Director - Associate Professor Katherine Evans
Deputy Director - Professor Caroline Mohammed
Knowledge Broker - Dr Liana Williams
Senior Industry Development Officer – Brian Field
Hub Manager – Tony Vaea
Project Officer – Dr Meghan Bond
Administration Officer – Renai Skurrie

Contact us at