Skip to content

About the University Council

The University Council is the governing body of the University of Tasmania. It is established by the University of Tasmania Act 1992.

The Council is chaired by the Chancellor, who is appointed by the members. The current Chancellor is Ms Alison Watkins, and the current Deputy Chancellor is Mr James Groom.

Council is the governing authority of the University and is required to act in all matters of the University in the way it considers will best advance the interests of the University.  It has the power to do all things necessary to fulfill its role as the University's governing authority. It is advised by its committees, its working parties, and (in relation to academic matters) the Academic Senate.

Council and Committee meeting dates