Skip to content

Library Contacts

If you wish to contact your Library directly please visit our Libraries web page.

To contact us by telephone dial one of the following numbers and select 4 for Library enquiries:

  • 1300 304 903 (Local call charge from within Tasmania mobiles excepted)
  • (03) 6226 1818 (Australia)
  • +61 3 6226 1818 (International Callers)

Join the queue before you reach the Morris Miller or Launceston Campus library with QLess.

Got a question or suggestion?

askus link

  • Visit Ask Us for answers to all your questions as a student at the University of Tasmania
  • You can email us at Ask US.
  • You can ask a question, find an answer or provide your feedback via Ask Us.

Have feedback or an issue with the library website?

Let us know by filling out the website feedback form.

Or report a problem with an online resource

Acquires, manages and maintains the Library's electronic and physical collections

Acquisitions & Access
Phone Number +61 3 6226 2211
Fax Number +61 3 6226 7642
Email Library.Resources@utas.edu.au
Postal address Private Bag 25 Hobart 7001
Service Manager - Debra Wilson +61 3 6226 2207
image of Acquisitions and Access Librarian
Acquisitions & Access Service Manager - Debra Wilson


Debra.Wilson@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2207
image of Acquisitions and Access Librarian
Acquisitions & Access Librarian - Wendy Rimon


Wendy.Rimon@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2789
Acquisitions & Access Librarian
Acquisitions & Access Librarian - Liz Hellsing


Liz.Hellsing@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 1002
Acquisitions & Access Librarian
Acquisitions & Access Librarian - Ian Apted


Ian.Apted@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 7412
Document Delivery Services
Phone Number +61 3 6226 2230
Email Docdel.Hbt@lib.utas.edu.au
Postal address Private Bag 25 Hobart 7001
Rachel Adams
Service Coordinator - Rachel Adams
+61 3 6226 2880
Rachel.Adams@utas.edu.au

Discovery Services maintains discovery and search interfaces for Library information resources and services - enhancing discoverability and accessibility through metadata creation, open access standards and copyright compliance.

Discovery Services
Phone Number +61 3 6226 1895
Email oa.repository@utas.edu.au
Postal address Private Bag 25 Hobart 7001
Service Manager - Katrina Dewis +61 3 6226 2395
Natasha Watts
Discovery Librarian - Natasha Watts
+61 3 6226 5579
Natasha.Watts@utas.edu.au
Elizabeth Seymour
Discovery Librarian - Elizabeth Seymour
+61 3 6226 6256
Elizabeth.Seymour@utas.edu.au

Library services for those studying by distance or online.

Flexible Library Services
Phone Number +61 3 6430 4985
Fax Number +61 3 6430 4950
Email Flexible@lib.utas.edu.au
Postal address Locked Bag 3512 Burnie 7320
Pauline Lister
Service Coordinator - Pauline Lister
+61 3 6430 4985
Pauline.Lister@utas.edu.au
Lending Services
Library Phone Number (during opening hours) Tasmanian - 1300 304 903 and press 4 (local call cost)
Interstate - +61 3 6226 1818 and press 4
Access your library account through the Library Catalogue My Library
Contact us AskUs & Your Feedback

Contact us:

We will respond to you by email or phone to answer your query, or offer an appointment to meet in person or online

We support:

  • PhD candidates
  • Masters by Research candidates
  • Doctorate candidates
  • Academic staff
  • Professional staff
  • Honours students
  • Public

Library services For Researchers include:

Your Research Librarians
Chris Evans, Research LibrarianChris Evans
Senior Librarian, Research Services

Ph +61 3 6226 2132
Ian Bollard, Research LibrarianIan Bollard

Ph +61 3 6324 3900
Louise Earwaker, Research LibrarianLouise Earwaker

Ph +61 3 6324 3951
Heather Mitchell, Research LibrarianHeather Mitchell

Ph +61 3 6226 7217
Michaela Venn, Research LibrarianMichaela Venn
Mon, Tues, Thurs, Fri

Ph + 61 3 6226 4812
Research LibrarianShirin Vloebergh
Mon-Wed

Ph + 61 3 6226 1992
Research LibrarianRuth Thomas
Mon & Fri

Ph + 61 3 6226 6160

Provides direct access to electronic readings, chapter scans and links to physical items listed in the catalogue

Reading List Service
Phone Number +61 3 6226 1002
Fax Number +61 3 6226 7642
Email reading.lists@utas.edu.au
Postal address Private Bag 25 Hobart 7001
Library Staff
Service Coordinator - Liz Hellsing
+61 3 6226 2880
Liz.Hellsing@utas.edu.au

Library Administration

Email: DVC.ExecHub@utas.edu.au
Postal address: Private Bag 25 Hobart 7001


Senior Library Managers

  
Janette Burke
University Librarian
Janette.Burke@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2826
Janette Burke
Wendy Hoyle
Associate Director, Library Services
Wendy.Hoyle@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6324 3551
Wendy Hoyle
Caine Chennatt
Associate Director, Collections
Caine.Chennatt@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2223
image of Caine Chennatt
Katrina Dewis
Senior Librarian, Discovery
Katrina.Dewis@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2822
Katrina Dewis
Juliet Beale
Senior Librarian, Collections
Juliet.Beale@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2395
Juliet Beale
Rodney Foley
Manager, Library Systems
Rodney.Foley@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 7494
Rodney Foley
Chris Evans
Senior Librarian, Research Services
Christine.Evans@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2132
Chris Evans
Debra Wilson
Senior Librarian, Acquisitions & Access
Debra.Wilson@utas.edu.au
+61 3 6226 2207
Debra Wilson

The Special & Rare Collections manages and provides access to rare books and early manuscripts; journals; maps; university records of a non-business nature; and private materials including diaries, letters, photographs, paintings and The Royal Society Collection.

Special & Rare Collections
Phone Number +61 3 6226 7883 or +61 3 6226 2222
Email Special.Collections@utas.edu.au
Postal address Private Bag 25 Hobart 7001
Special and Rare Librarian
Service Manager - Wendy Rimon
+61 3 6226 2789
Wendy.Rimon@utas.edu.au

Learning support for students

Student Learning Librarians support the academic development of Pre-degree, Undergraduate, and Postgraduate coursework students.

Honours, Masters (Research), and PhD students should contact the Research Librarians.

Book an appointment

(How to make a booking)

A consultation with a Student Learning Librarian assists you with improving the information skills your need to succeed in your study, such as:

  • Scoping your search topic
  • Choosing appropriate search tools and sources
  • Strategic database searching
  • Evaluating information sources
  • Applying referencing styles

The focus of these consultations is to support you in becoming an independent learner.

We are happy to meet you face to face, or talk via telephone or online.

We can get very busy so please book one week ahead, if possible.

Email the team

Please include your full name and UTAS ID number in all email messages.

We will do our best to provide an answer to simple queries via email, but we may recommend that you book a consultation time for more detailed advice.

*****

The Student Learning Drop-In Mentors can also help you with information skills queries. No appointment is necessary, and you can visit as often as you like.

Click the link below for Drop-In times and locations:

Student Learning Drop-In

Information Literacy support for staff

The Student Learning Librarians, as part of the Student Learning team within the Student Centre, provide a range of services and programs that complement each other and aim to facilitate excellence in learning.

These include providing generic information literacy programs as well as supporting embedded information literacy development within disciplines through unit and course-based workshops.

Please contact us to discuss support for students enrolled in your courses and units.

Learning Services Librarians
Anna Klebansky, Student Learning LibrarianAnna Klebansky
Ph +61 3 6324 3833
Email: Anna.Klebansky@utas.edu.au

Student Centre, Newnham
Susan Bell, Student Learning LibrarianSusan Bell
Ph +61 3 6324 3139
Email: Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au

Student Centre, Newnham
Ruairi Murphy, Student Learning LibrarianRuairi Murphy
Ph +61 3 6226 7287
Email: Ruairi.Murphy@utas.edu.au

Morris Miller Library, Sandy Bay
Scott Wylie, Student Learning LibrarianScott Wylie
Ph +61 3 6226 2225
Email: Scott.Wylie@utas.edu.au

Morris Miller Library, Sandy Bay

Library Systems manage services required by Library staff

Library Systems
Phone Number +61 3 6226 7494
Fax Number +61 3 6226 2878
Email Library.Systems@utas.edu.au
Postal address Private Bag 25 Hobart 7001
Image of Rodney Foley

Service Manager - Rodney Foley
+61 3 6226 7494
Rodney.Foley@utas.edu.au

Provides materials in an accessible format to students who have been assessed as having a print disability.

Transcriptions Services
Phone Number +61 3 6226 5590
Fax Number +61 3 6226 7642
Email Transcription.Services@utas.edu.au
Postal address Private Bag 25 Hobart 7001
Pam Pilcher
Service Co-ordinator - Pam Pilcher
+61 3 6226 5581
Pam.Pilcher@utas.edu.au