Launceston Campus Library

Launceston Campus Library

The Launceston Campus Library is located at Newnham Drive, Newnham, Launceston

Locate the Library in Google Maps

The Launceston Campus Library is located near the Sir Raymond Ferrall Centre - Newnham Campus Map (PDF 404.1 KB)   

Phone: +61 3 3 6324 3276

Email: AskUs

* 24 hour access via swipe card

Launceston Campus Library

Semester 1

Monday 27th February - Monday 26th June 2017

Day Hours
Monday - Thursday 8.30am - 9.00pm
Friday 8.30am - 6.00pm
Saturday & Sunday 12noon - 6.00pm
Easter Break
Thursday 13th April - Wednesday 19th April
See
Public Holidays

Mid-Year Vacation

Tuesday 27th June - Sunday 16th July 2017

Day Hours
Monday - Friday 8.30am - 6.00pm
Saturday - Sunday Closed

Public Holidays

Holiday Date in 2017 Hours
Australia Day Thursday January 26th Closed
Launceston CupWednesday February 22nd 8.30am - 6.00pm
Eight Hour Day Monday March 13th 12noon-6.00pm
Thursday (before Easter) April 13th 8.30am - 6.00pm
Good Friday April 14th Closed
Easter Saturday - Easter Tuesday April 15th - April 18th 12noon-6.00pm
Wednesday (after Easter) April 19th 8.30am - 6.00pm
ANZAC Day Tuesday April 25th 12noon-6.00pm
Queen's Birthday Monday June 12th 10.00am - 6.00pm
Launceston Show Day Thursday October 12th 12noon - 6.00pm
Northern Tasmania Recreation DayMonday November 6th10.00am - 6.00pm

What kind of access will I have?

24/7 access to the Learning Hub area on Level 1, including the group rooms and the landing of level 2, plus access to computers and online Library resources.  The card will also give you access to the 24/7 Learning Hub in the Raymond Ferrall Building.

What are the security arrangements?

  • Security patrols and CCTV cameras.
  • Security can be contacted via the red phone outside Group Study Room 1 on Level 1
  • To contact Security using your mobile phone the number is +61 3 6324 3336.
  • A Help Point is located directly outside the Launceston Campus Library front entrance.

What do I need to do?

  • Get a free UTAS access card.  When applying for the card you agree to keep it secure and safe; it is for personal use only (you are not permitted to allow any other person to use the card) and it is really important to report the card if it is lost or stolen.  [Note:  Charges apply for replacement cards.]
  • Have both your UTAS student ID card and access card with you at all times while in the library. 

To obtain an Access Card

  • Security can issue access cards at no charge, upon presentation of a valid Student ID card to the security office on the Newnham Campus. The office is open from 11 am to 12 noon weekdays only. These cards are pre-activated to allow access to the Newnham Library and The Raymond Ferrall Center.

Note:  Security is open 8am-4pm Orientation week and the first week of each semester.

Ltn-floorplan-Level-1

Ltn-floorplan-Level-2

Print floor plan (PDF 339KB)

  • In your Library you can find the spaces you can work in groups - Spaces for us
  • If you need a place where you can work quietly on your own please check Spaces for me

Research Librarians

Student Learning Librarians

Louise Earwaker

Louise Earwaker
BA, GradDipInfoLibStds.
Ph +61 3 6324 3951
Email: Louise.Earwaker@utas.edu.au
Launceston Campus Library

Susan Bell, Student Learning Librarian

Susan Bell
BA, GradDipInfoLibStds
Ph +61 3 6324 3139
Email: Susan.Bell@utas.edu.au
Student Centre, Y Block

 Ian Bollard, Research & Learning Services Librarian

Ian Bollard
BA, GradDipLib, GradDipAppComp, GradCertUnivLearn&Teach
Ph +61 3 6324 3900
Email: Ian.Bollard@utas.edu.au
Launceston Campus Library

representation of Anna Klebansky , Student Learning Librarian

Anna Klebansky
BA, GradDipInfoTech(LibSci)
Ph +61 3 6324 3833
Email: Anna.Klebansky@utas.edu.au
Student Centre, Y Block

Client Services

photo of Prue Senior

Prue Senior
Senior Client Service Officer
Ph +61 3 6324 3204
Email: Prue.Senior@utas.edu.au

photograph of Sandra Livingston

Sandra Livingston
Administrative Support 
Ph +61 3 6324 3541
Email: Sandra.Livingston@utas.edu.au
photograph of Vaughan King

Vaughan King
Client Service Officer 
Ph +61 3 6324 3887
Email: Vaughan.King@utas.edu.au
photograph of Jeremy Morante

Jeremy Morante
Client Service Officer
Ph +61 3 6324 3541
Email: Jeremy.Morante@utas.edu.au
photograph of Michelle Lucas

Michelle Lucas
Client Service Officer 
Ph +61 3 6324 3541
Email: Michelle.Lucas@utas.edu.au
photograph of Beverley Walsh

Beverley Walsh
Client Service Officer 
Ph +61 3 6324 3541
Email: Beverley.Walsh@utas.edu.au
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday
photograph of Tracey Delphin

Tracey Delphin
Client Service Officer 
Ph +61 3 6324 3541
Email: Tracey.Delphin@utas.edu.au
photograph of Lionel Cooper

Lionel Cooper
Client Service Officer 
Ph +61 3 6324 3541
Email: Lionel.Cooper@utas.edu.au

Flexible Library Services

photo of pauline lister
Pauline Lister
Client Service Officer
Cradle Coast Campus Library
Ph +61 3 6430 4985
Email: Pauline.Lister@utas.edu.au

Reading Lists Services

photo of Leonie Alias
Leonie Alias
Reading List Officer
Ph +61 3 6324 3148
Email: Leonie.Alias@utas.edu.au

Launceston Campus Library

Client Services phone number +61 3 6324 3276
Fax number - Client Services +61 3 6324 3008
Client Services email Loans.Ltn@lib.utas.edu.au
Postal address Locked Bag 1312
Launceston 7248
Service Coordinator - Prue Senior +61 3 6324 3204
Library Manager +61 3 6324 3551

Flexible Library Services

Phone Number+61 3 6430 4985
Fax Number+61 3 6430 4950
EmailFlexible@lib.utas.edu.au
Postal addressLocked Bag 3512
Burnie 7320
Service Coordinator - Pauline Lister+61 3 6430 4985