University Council

Remuneration & Nominations Committee

Current Members

Term Expires

Chair (Chancellor, ex officio)

The Hon. Michael Field AC 31 December 2015
Deputy Chancellor Mr Harvey Gibson 31 December 2015
If there is only 1 Deputy Chancellor, the Chair of Audit & Risk Committee Mr Harvey Gibson 31 December 2015
Chair of Finance Committee Mr Paul Gregg 31 December 2015
Vice-Chancellor Professor Peter Rathjen 27 March 2016
SecretaryMs Belinda Webster 
Attendees (as appropriate)
Chief Operating Officer
Director Human Resources

Mr David Clerk
Mr Chris Smyth

Terms of Reference

  • appointment, extension and removal of the Vice-Chancellor
  • remuneration and performance management of the Vice-Chancellor
  • appointment, extension and removal of members of the senior executive, unless the Chancellor decides otherwise in any particular case
  • remuneration of members of the senior executive
  • setting parameters for Enterprise Bargaining
  • considering and recommending to Council nominations for appointment to any position to which Council appoints, other than to Council itself. 

Please use the attached template for submitting papers to Council [Word 250KB] and its committee.
Any submissions should be sent to Belinda Webster, General Counsel & University Secretary and Secretary to the Remuneration & Nominations Committee.
Private Bag 42, Hobart 7001 or