Skip to content

Vice-Chancellor's Awards

The Vice-Chancellor's Awards acknowledge and celebrate our people who make outstanding contributions to our University community, our mission and objectives, and embody our core values in their behaviour.

This year’s awards have been reframed in line with our broader institutional value of being truly people-centred, recognising outstanding contributions by people who consistently demonstrate the values and behaviours articulated in the University and People strategies.

2019 Vice-Chancellor's Award Recipients

Distinguished Service Medal

  • Ann Ryan, the former Executive Director, Operations for the College of Arts, Law and Education, who retired this year after 25 years’ service to the University

Vice-Chancellor’s Medal for Sustained Commitment to Teaching Excellence

  • Professor Sankar Sinha OAM (College of Health and Medicine)

Vice-Chancellor's Teaching Excellence Award

  • Associate Professor Tracey Muir (College of Arts, Law and Education); Associate Professor Kristyn Harman (College of Arts, Law and Education)

University of Tasmania Research Medal

  • Professor Roberta Julian (College of Arts, Law and Education)
  • IMAS Salmon Environmental Interaction Team (SEIT) - Dr Jeff Ross, Associate Professor Catriona MacLeod, Dr Camille White, Dr Karen Alexander, Dr Scott Hadley, Jason Beard, Flora Bush, Adam Davey, James Hortle, Samuel Kruimink, Andrew Pender, Benjamin Quigley, David Moreno, Olivia Johnson, Myriam Lacharite, Kylie Cahill, Jessica Kube

Vice-Chancellor's Early Career Researcher Award

  • Dr Rodrigo Hamede Ross (College of Sciences and Engineering)

Vice-Chancellor’s Service Excellence Award

  • Dr Melanie Greenwood (College of Health and Medicine)

Vice-Chancellor's Engagement Award

  • Professor Michael Breadmore (College of Sciences and Engineering)

Vice-Chancellor's Leadership Award

  • Professor Anya Reading (College of Sciences and Engineering)

Vice-Chancellor's Innovation Award

  • Pennelope Ratcliffe (Division of the Chief Operating Officer)
  • Associate Professor Jason Smith
  • Dr Alex Bissember (College of Sciences and Engineering)

Further information:

An image gallery of the ceremony can be found on the Staff Intranet (log-in required).

Download the 2019 awards booklet (PDF 346.0KB)