Contact Us

Here you will find a list of staff members associated with managing UTAS' research activities. Links are also provided to others who can help with research-related matters such as The Office of the Deputy-Vice-Chancellor (Research) and the Office of Research Services which includes the Graduate Research Office.

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) is responsible for research policy development and furthering the profile of research at The University of Tasmania.

The DVC(R) has oversight for all aspects of the Research Portfolio. Staff in the ODVC(R) have responsibility for:

  • Research strategy and priorities
  • Research policy
  • Research data reporting and analysis
  • Facilitating effective lines of communication for all units that report to DVC(R)
  • Oversight of the budgets and financial outlooks for all units that report to the DVC(R)
  • Oversight of communication strategies of the Research Portfolio and major research events in consultation with other units
  • Oversight of research data analysis and reporting, working closely with the OPVC(R&I)
  • Other strategic initiatives as required by the University
  • Management of the strategic research funds

Professor Brigid Heywood
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)
Telephone: +61 3 6226 2419
Email: Brigid.Heywood@utas.edu.au

Professor Richard Coleman
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Collaborations & Infrastructure)
Telephone: +61 3 6226 7261
Email: Richard.Coleman@utas.edu.au

Professor Imelda Whelehan
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Training) & Dean of Graduate Research
Telephone: +61 3 6226 7261
Email: Imelda.Whelehan@utas.edu.au

Karina Groenewoud
Division Manager
Telephone: +61 6226 7143
Email: Karina.Groenewoud@utas.edu.au

Tanya Adrych
Executive Officer to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)
Telephone: +61 3 6226 7492
Email: Tanya.Adrych@utas.edu.au

Kerrie Bidwell
Executive Assistant to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)
Telephone: +61 3 6226 2419
Email: Kerrie.Bidwell@utas.edu.au

The Office of the PVC (Research Training) & Dean of Graduate Research is responsible for establishing the academic framework for research training at the University of Tasmania.

Professor Imelda Whelehan
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Training) & Dean of Graduate Research
Telephone: +61 3 6226 7261
Email: Imelda.Whelehan@utas.edu.au

Professor Dominic Geraghty
Deputy Dean of Graduate Research
Telephone: +61 3 6324 5488
Email: D.Geraghty@utas.edu.au

Associate Professor Christine Stirling
Deputy Dean of Graduate Research
Telephone: +61 3 6226 4678
Email: Christine.Stirling@utas.edu.au

Dr Denbeigh Armstrong
Senior Executive Officer to the Pro-Vice Chancellor (Research Training) & Dean of Graduate Research
Telephone: +61 3 6226 2011
Email: Denbeigh.Armstrong@utas.edu.au

Postal Address: Office of the PVC Research Training, University of Tasmania, Private Bag 3, HOBART TAS 7001
Location: :Level 2, Administration Building, Sandy Bay campus

General Enquires +61 3 6226 1760

UTAS Office of Research Services provides oversight, support and management of:

  • Research policy
  • Research ethics, integrity and compliance
  • Research funding administration
  • Research quality reporting and analysis
  • Major national and international research linkages and partnerships
  • Coordination of major research initiatives
  • Training and professional development of UTAS’ researchers
  • Research training
  • Strategic research funding

It consists of:

  • Research Management Office, incorporating Research Grants, Human Ethics, Animal Welfare and Research Integrity
  • UTAS Graduate Research Office, incorporating Admissions and Scholarships, Candidature, Thesis Examinations, and the Graduate Certificate in Professional Skills Development
  • UTAS Business Development & Tech Transfer, incorporating business partnerships and assisting research staff to identify, protect and manage the University’s intellectual capital and realise potential new business opportunities
School and Faculty Graduate Research Administration Staff

Graduate Research Administration Officers are located within the Research Hubs for each School and Faculty. Please contact the Graduate Research Administration Officer within the relevant hub for your school or faculty.

Graduate Research Office

Email: graduate.research@utas.edu.au
Location: Level 2, 301 Sandy Bay Road, Sandy Bay - Download Sandy Bay Campus Map (899.4KB) Building 1, Map Ref AC06
Postal Address: Graduate Research Office, University of Tasmania, Private Bag 105, Hobart 7001
Facsimile: ( 03) 6226 7497

The Graduate Research Office consists of a team of administration professionals who are each responsible for a discrete area of the University's graduate research administration.

Executive Staff

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)
Professor Brigid Heywood
Telephone: +61 3 6226 2419
Brigid.Heywood@utas.edu.au

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Strategy)
Professor Andrew Wells
Telephone: +61 3 6226 7261
Andrew.Wells@utas.edu.au

Professor Richard Coleman
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Collaborations & Infrastructure)
Telephone: +61 3 6226 7261
Email: Richard.Coleman@utas.edu.au

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Training) & Dean of Graduate Research
Professor Imelda Whelehan
Telephone: +61 3 6226 7261
Email: Imelda.Whelehan@utas.edu.au

Executive Director, Research Operations
Dr Jodi Clyde-Smith
Telephone: +61 3 6226 1760
Jodi.ClydeSmith@utas.edu.au

Director, Business Development & Tech Transfer
Dr Darren Cundy
Telephone:  +61 3 6226 6299
Darren.Cundy@utas.edu.au

Assisting faculty and institute researchers in the growth and financial viability of interactions with industry, government and the wider community in ways which significantly contribute to the Faculty's research outcomes.

Arts

Associate Professor Hamish Maxwell-Stewart
+61 3 6226 1983 | Hamish.MaxwellStewart@utas.edu.au

Australian Maritime College

Professor Jonathan Binns
+61 3 6324 9847 | Jonathan.Binns@utas.edu.au

Business

Associate Professor Angela Martin
+61 3 6226 2713 | angela.martin@utas.edu.au

Education

Professor Monica Cuskelly
+61 3 6324 3461 | Monica.Cuskelly@utas.edu.au

Health Sciences

Professor Greg Peterson
+61 3 6226 2197 | G.Peterson@utas.edu.au

Law

Professor Jan McDonald
+61 3 6226 2070 | jan.mcdonald@utas.edu.au

Marine and Antarctic Studies (Institute for)

Professor Mark Hindell
+61 3 6226 2645 | Mark.Hindell@utas.edu.au

Menzies Institute for Medical Research, University of Tasmania

Associate Professor Tracey Dickson
+61 3 6226 4829 | tracey.dickson@utas.edu.au

Science, Engineering and Technology (Faculty of)

Associate Professor Erik Wapstra
+61 3 6226 2813 | erik.wapstra@utas.edu.au

Site feedback