Skip to content

Northern Transformation

Transforming Lives. Transforming Cities

The Northern Transformation is a $300 million project that will see new campuses built at West Park in Burnie and Inveresk in Launceston in a partnership between the University and local, state and Australian governments.

The new campuses will become central to the life of each city and region – vibrant places where the community, business and industry, and the University can connect and collaborate.

The Northern Transformation will improve educational attainment in Tasmania by providing flexible, accessible learning options which focus on the strengths of the region.

Economic, social and health outcomes will be improved by creating new jobs, supporting entrepreneurship and attracting and retaining talent in the state.

What's the latest?

At Inveresk in Launceston, construction work is well underway for three major buildings, outdoor spaces across the precinct, the Northern car park and a pedestrian and cycle bridge linking Inveresk to the city. Check out the full schedule of key dates and register for updates.

Work commenced at West Park in Burnie in late 2019. The new waterfront campus opened in September 2021.

Internationally renowned John Wardle Architects (JWA) are the principal consultants for the Northern Transformation project, partnering with three Tasmanian practices founded and run by University of Tasmania alumni: Room11, 1+2 Architecture and Philp Lighton Architects.

Artist’s Impression: New campus at West Park
Artist’s Impression: Library and Student Experience at Inveresk

Our Partners

The Northern Transformation Program is a partnership between the University, TasTAFE and three levels of government. The Australian Government is contributing $150 million in funding, while the State Government and the University are each contributing $75 million. The City of Launceston and the Burnie City Council are making strategic land allocations and investment in associated public infrastructure.

City of Launceston
Burnie City Council
Cradle Coast Authority
Tasmanian Government
Australian Government