Skip to content

Carington Smith Library

View of the Art Library building

The Carington Smith Library  - located on the first floor of the Centre for the Arts on Hobart's historic waterfront in Hunter Street. The Carington Smith Library houses the art, design and music collections, and supports the teaching, study, practice and research needs of staff and students of the School of Creative Arts and Media.
Photograph - Courtesy of Tasmanian School of Art

Locate the Library in Google Maps

Phone: +61 3 6226 4376

Email: CaringtonSmith.Reference@utas.edu.au

Library phone number+61 3 6226 4376
Library emailCaringtonSmith.Reference@utas.edu.au
Postal addressPrivate Bag 56 Hobart 7001

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

In order to adhere to Government guidelines physical distancing must maintained in all libraries.  Opening hours may change so please continue to check this page or Latest Library News and FAQs

Access is restricted to Art & Music (CAM) students and staff only via swipe card only.

Community users are welcome to use the library via appointment only. Please contact us by phone 6226 4376 or email.

Long Vacation 2021/2022

Monday 8 November - Sunday 20 February*

DayHours
Monday - Friday   8.45am - 5.00pm
Saturday, Sunday  & Public Holidays Closed
*Christmas/ New Year - Monday 20 December 2021 - Sunday 16 January 2022 inclusiveClosed

First Semester 2022

Monday 21 February - Tuesday 21 June

DayHours
Monday       8.45am - 5.00pm
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday 8.45am - 6.00pm
Friday 8.45am - 5.00pm
Saturday, Sunday & Public Holidays Closed

Disclaimer: These hours may change in the future

Public Holidays

DayDateHours
New Year Holiday     Monday 3 January Closed
Australia Day Wednesday 26 January Closed
Royal Hobart Regatta Monday 14 February Closed
Eight Hours Day Monday 14 March Closed
Good Friday Friday 15  April Closed
Easter Monday Monday 18 April Closed
Easter Tuesday Tuesday 19 April   Closed
Anzac Day Monday 25 April Closed
Queens Birthday Monday 13 June Closed
  • In your Library you can find the spaces you can work in groups - Spaces for us
  • If you need a place where you can work quietly on your own please check Spaces for me
photograph of client services officer

Client Service Officer
Email: CaringtonSmith.Reference@utas.edu.au
Ph +61 3 6226 4376